Who suffers most is I …

I cause displeasure to the one

I most desire to gratify,

And from displeasure that I give,

The one who suffers most is I … 

Such beautifully stirring words written many years ago by Juana Inés de la Cruz –   acclaimed in her time as the “Phoenix of Mexico”, America’s tenth muse; a generation later she was forgotten.

Sor Juana Inés de la  Cruz was a 17th century nun, self-taught scholar and acclaimed writer of the Latin American colonial period and the Hispanic Baroque. She was also a staunch advocate for women’s rights.

 

About Teresita

I am a writer, a thinker, an introvert, work behind the scenes kind of person - I am of Puerto Rican blood, have an Italian soul, and a Berliner mind....just learning...♥ View all posts by Teresita

One response to “Who suffers most is I …

  • Tricia

    Oh! So true! I suffered many years under the whip of my own mind. Not any more. Only hugs and kisses😊
    Have you seen the movie about her on Netflix? I loved it! I love her. Such a captivating life full of fight and resilience. I enjoyed that movie very much. I hope it was a honorable depiction of her life.

Leave a Reply

