Forgiveness…

Came across this on Facebook and it resonated…had to share:

Forgiveness doesn’t excuse their behavior. Forgiveness prevents their behavior from destroying your heart. ~ Author Unknown

Truth be told, when wronged, so many of us want to hurt those who hurt us. If you really think about it though, what is the point? If someone is unapologetic about their behavior, our attempts to “teach them a lesson” and/or seek revenge is not going to be effective; firstly because they will not see what we interpret as the error of their ways – they will simply continue to believe that they are right, and secondly because the longer we harbor negative feelings towards anyone or anything, the longer it eats US away from the inside. Essentially, we continue to destroy ourselves while the person who hurt us just carries on with their lives.

No, forgiveness does not excuse the behavior of others but it does allow us to move on without allowing their poison to control our thoughts and emotions. ~ Gia

Forgivenss

Forgivenss

I am all about forgiveness and moving forward. I have written many times, that I imagine people dead, so I forgive them; more for myself. I don’t live my life with regrets. I don’t think anyone owes me anything. I am solely responsible for my feelings, actions and reactions. I believe grudges are for those who insist that they are owed something; forgiveness, however, is for those who are strong enough to move on.

About Teresita

I am a writer, a thinker, an introvert, work behind the scenes kind of person - I am of Puerto Rican blood, have an Italian soul, and a Berliner mind....just learning...♥ View all posts by Teresita

Leave a Reply

