Let Go of Grudges Day…

I have declared today, “Let go of grudges” day. In honor of #GoRed for women to raise awareness of heart disease, I say we let go of all that hinders a healthy
heart for all.

I am all about forgiveness and moving forward. I have written many times, that I imagine people dead, so I forgive them; more for myself. I don’t live my life
with regrets. I don’t think anyone owes me anything. I am solely responsible for my feelings, actions and reactions. I believe grudges are for those who
insist that they are owed something; forgiveness, however, is for those who are strong enough to move on. So, let’s move on. When we choose to forgive, its not like we are condoning the bad behavior; we are not relieving the responsibility or to excusing the behavior. To me, forgiveness is a personal act that can transfer emotional control back into our hands. Its my choice now. I don’t seek an apology from the person who hurt me. I just forgive them quietly in my heart. Don’t let pride dictate your life. Nor away your choices.

If we are unable to let go of a grudge, we waste time stewing over it – time that we never get back – it’s lost time. We let the anger from holding a grudge, make us bitter. And this has long lasting affects on us – our lives, our health – health problems that result from the anxiety, depression, increased heart rate, and elevated blood pressure that grudges can cause. Just sad.

Confucius once said, that to be wronged is nothing, unless you continue to remember it. So, remember it, learn from it, and move on.
Charlotte Brontë wrote, “Life appears to me too short to be spent in nursing animosity or registering wrongs.”… Yes, I couldn’t agree more. Life is too
short. Every day a gift, working on making each day a blessing.

I don’t mind the wrinkles near my eyes and mouth – I have earned them! When I smile, light shines brighter from my eyes, and I pray only nice words come out
of my mouth. With God’s grace, I will let go any resentment I may feel. I want to be free, unburdened or weighted down with regret and grudges. Even
those who have wronged and hurt me, I forgive.

“Let today be the day you stop being haunted by the ghost of yesterday. Holding a grudge & harboring anger/resentment is poison to the soul. Get even with
people…but not those who have hurt us, forget them, instead get even with those who have helped us.” – Steve Maraboli

Everyone, have the day you have – no pressure. I will walk forward with my head held high, my heart pure with grace, hope and faith.

About Teresita

I am a writer, a thinker, an introvert, work behind the scenes kind of person - I am of Puerto Rican blood, have an Italian soul, and a Berliner mind....just learning...♥ View all posts by Teresita

Leave a Reply

