Angel soaring….

Wow. Interestingly someone said to me, “You are an angel who forgot how to fly”. At first, I heard the word angel and thought oh how sweet; but then I actually listened to the rest of what they said and realized that he was telling me that I was scared and held myself back. Just like in Justin Bieber’s song “Fall” I guess I have been like an angel here on earth, living under the radar; not flying nor spreading my wings fully. I have been working on that and wish people would not judge and just let us grow, change at our own pace.

We have all met people whose light dulls at times. Or those popular kids from high school who we all thought would amount to greatness and then learned they somehow didn’t reach the dizzying heights we thought they should. Life happens. Things drag us down. Some are out of our control.

I think at times, I am so much better at taking care of others, that I neglect myself. I lose parts of me. But I have been working hard on reclaiming my time. Carving out selfish ME time to heal, tend to myself. But I still have that urge to ‘fix’ someone other than me at times. Those weak moments, knowing that I won’t be fully appreciated. We’ve all been guilty of trying to “fix” someone. Our job on this earth is not to fix everyone but to love and support them and give them the grace to grow. I just wish people could reciprocate.

You’ll meet only a few people in your whole life who are truly abandoned houses – rundown, worn out, collapsing at the seams. I’m not asking you to take a hammer and nails and pin up their rafters, fix their leaky faucets, or put new panes of glass in their broken windows; I’m asking you to simply open their door, and spend a little time memorizing their floor plan. Get to know them. And when the time comes, I want you to draw back their curtains and, once and for all, let the light in.

I may have been broken, but my wings are in constant repair and I find myself flying at times, soaring above most of the time…with grace, hope, faith and love in my heart…keeping me afloat. ♥

About Teresita

I am a writer, a thinker, an introvert, work behind the scenes kind of person - I am of Puerto Rican blood, have an Italian soul, and a Berliner mind....just learning...♥ View all posts by Teresita

One response to “Angel soaring….

Leave a Reply

