Learning to love my curves….

Learning how to live within my new body…learning how to embrace my new curves. I understand that my weight does not define me, but I have to admit it’s frustrating to me when I try to get dressed for work, realize many of my clothes do not fit me. Up until my late 30s, I was never more than 110 lbs and at 5’2″ – I was okay with my body image.

The past few years have been filled with stress for me…divorce, unemployment, being laid off twice, taking care of my sick, elderly parents, dealing with the loss of my pet…I guess the weight gain was a gradual thing….but it wasn’t until a car accident this past January found me in active and home yet again…and NOW, I am 35 lbs heavier. No wonder none of my clothes fit me!!

Now that my bones have healed – I am on a mission…more walking, hiking, join a gym perhaps…

Many of my friends tell me I look great…but I don’t feel great. I am quickly learning that I have to focus on the following in my attempts to achieve a healthier life:

– Sleep more
– Stress less
– Throw out the medications I no longer need from my accident (steroids, pain meds, etc.)
– Regular exercise

Unfortunately, I still need to take my high blood pressure medicine – but it is important to remember that a few extra pounds may be well worth the trade-off for a healthy life as well. Also, something else I need to accept is that I am reaching that age where menopause is a reality. I am coming to terms with the fact that with aging comes a natural slowing of metabolism. At the same time, hormonal changes can trigger hunger, depression, and poor sleep. Such a cycle…

So in the meantime, I will live my life to the fullest…

“She began to measure herself in contentment and laughter rather than in inches and pounds.”

In the words of Miranda Lambert, “I won’t give up what I enjoy to look perfect. I want to find a happy medium between feeling good about my body and still having a beer and some barbecue.” ♥

About Teresita

I am a writer, a thinker, an introvert, work behind the scenes kind of person - I am of Puerto Rican blood, have an Italian soul, and a Berliner mind....just learning...♥ View all posts by Teresita

5 responses to “Learning to love my curves….

  • Alba

    Hi Teresita, I love your blog first of all. You talk about things that I personally can relate to and when I feel alone, ( like I do now), it helps to know someone else has been or is where I am now. When I read this about you, “The past few years have been filled with stress for me…divorce, unemployment, being laid off twice, taking care of my sick elderly parents” , I thought I was reading my life except for me, I been dealing with the loss of my mom too…it was two years ago but I had no time to mourn her loss as I had to take on the roll as a caregiver for my father who is suffering with Parkinson. He is now in long term care facility but it just makes me sad and it’s stressful. So because of all of this, I got into a depression ( some days are good, some not so much). I also gained weight because of my circumstances with too many life changes at once. I know the weight gain part of it is hormonal because of my age, over 40:( I know, they say aging is a privilege, I get that, but hard to enjoy it with all the changes we as women have to go through. I am also trying to change my diet a bit and exercise ( some days with success and others not:( ) I keep trying. Well, thank you for writing such a great blog.

    • Teresita

      Hi, Alba. Thank you for your kind words. Sorry to hear about the hardships you have been dealing with. Sometimes, I don’t know if I am going or coming…and I do seriously believe us women have it harder than men, hate to sound sexist…but such is the reality of the hormonal war we must endure. Just one day at a time. Sometimes I feel so lost and down, that I take it one second at a time. Writing my own personal journey has given me a true, continual opportunity to reflect on my life – the good, the bad, the ugly…yet also help me recognize the many blessings God has given me. I can only hope to be a small source of inspiration and strength to a few. Please feel free to contact me whenever. Write, vent, cry….it does help. take pressure off of yourself. it really is okay not to be perfect. {{hugs}}

      • Alba

        Thank you SO much for your reply, I appreciate it. I vented and cried a lot today. I am emotionally drained. Without going into too much detail, today is my birthday and the one person I was hoping and sort of expecting to give me well wishes, I did not hear from for the first time in 8 years, with probably an exception of one time because we were in feud. If that has ever happened to you, you will know it feels like a slap in the face…no worse, it feels like you got kicked in the gut…sorry I am not looking for sympathy just can’t get over it and I am angry about it more then anything now…I feel at fault for allowing this man in my life longer then he deserved to be there but…….I am a hopeless romantic I guess and I let my heart lead me most of the time……a lesson learned? maybe? I hope so….
        Thank you for the hugs, I really really need them…..<> back.

  • Alba

    ..shoot …my hugs back didn’t appear in the brackets:( Let me try to give them again, hugs back 🙂

    • Teresita

      Sorry missed your birthday…happy belated. I know sometimes on special days, we have harder times. Sorry to hear about that man who is no longer in your life, You can’t beat yourself up. There is a lesson in there somewhere. One day it may be apparent. You need time. Always {{hugs}}

Leave a Reply

