In my solitude…

As in every summer the past few years, I try to date. I have to admit, this summer, I have not been filled with my usual joie de vivre. Usually when winter comes around, I hibernate; and enjoy my solitude. Sometimes, all I want is a partner, other times, most times I am relieved to be alone in my solitude. I honestly can’t wait until winter…and the ringing in of the new year. Thank goodness its only 142 days away from 2014…2013 has not been a good year, I am still in pain from accident, exhausted, unpleasant, very close to coming unhinged.

If you ask me, there’s a moment in everyone’s life when you feel helpless, are just helpless. Trust me I know. I have been lost before…barely hanging on…with hope, faith and trust. And then something happens, something too big to understand,and then everything changes forever.

I have all these feelings – these weird, unsettling feelings, and I have had this burning desire to express them. But I can’t fully. I just can’t. I try. But somehow I feel like I speak this language and can’t make myself understood. And all these feelings I have – they are trapped and they are stuck in my heart…And I just feel so lonely.

Do you know why people hate to admit they are lonely? It’s because when you do, everyone thinks that something is wrong with you. They think “I have people in my life, why don’t you?” But the strange thing is, you can have people in your life and still be alone. I sometimes find myself in a crowd of people, but no one can hear me or understand me. So I rather be alone….in my solitude.

Sometimes people do actually feel that way. Sometimes your life feels like it’s caving in on you. Sometimes people really do feel like they don’t want to exist, like they want to just curl up in a ball, and go into that place between life and death. Saying “I don’t want to exist” isn’t saying “I want to go die”. It’s saying “I wish that, for the time being, I could go somewhere and not have to feel”. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that. And if you don’t know how it feels to feel this way, then you have no place to judge anyone who does.

I am telling you, there’s nothing wrong with being lonely sometimes, it’s okay…I know I will be alright…just not today…

About Teresita

I am a writer, a thinker, an introvert, work behind the scenes kind of person - I am of Puerto Rican blood, have an Italian soul, and a Berliner mind....just learning...♥ View all posts by Teresita

Leave a Reply

