Words after the rain…

Wake up from an illusion to find sunlight streaming through,
a fleeting glance outside reveals a sky blindingly blue.
Sunlight dancing on a mosaic of broken dreams,
the shimmering fragments that jeer as they gleam.
Untouchable, unattainable. The haunting ghosts of the past.
They lie like the psychedelic colors I saw last,
for it is a monochrome world without you here with me.
It’s senseless; the way how your smile is all I need to see.
When the world goes silent, your voice is all I hear.
These memories, these thoughts of you won’t disappear;
every time I close my eyes, I see your face.
This longing for you; time nor the grave can erode, cannot erase.
You took my hand and brought me up to the skies,
I didn’t look down, didn’t think about the demise.
You’ve dismantled my crust, reached my core,
stripped down my barriers, until there was nothing more.
So without you, and my outward defenses, I shattered;
my world faded into one where nothing but you mattered.I had no choice but to relapse back into reality when the magic ended;
lost dreams, broken spells, broken hearts, that neither of us intended.

For a moment in time after you passed, I have single-handedly severed many ties;
I lived in a fairy tale, lived in the reflected teardrop of lies.
For brief flares of passion, who would have known
that it still breaks my heart to see you in the dark, alone…in my dreams.

♥mm♥
About Teresita

I am a writer, a thinker, an introvert, work behind the scenes kind of person - I am of Puerto Rican blood, have an Italian soul, and a Berliner mind....just learning...♥ View all posts by Teresita

One response to “Words after the rain…

Leave a Reply

