Down but not over….

Wow!  What a few days it has been.  I still cry when I see acts of random kindness across the state.  I am totally in favor of volunteering, etc.,  and when I see people coming together and trying to help each other in any way, it definitely makes me warm and happy.  I am definitely proud that I live in a state and in a community that strives to support each other in the wake of Hurricane Sandy.

My parents and I were among the few on our block that had power this week.  We opened our home to family and had a sleep over – it was fun and heartwarming.   My neighbor decided to grill and gave away free food.   Prior to the storm hitting us Monday night, I made sure I checked in on the elderly neighbors ensuring they had some non-perishable food, candles.   Today we spent the day collecting clothes, any donations and busy making copies of photos for those who were not so fortunate.  I know a few of my high school friends who had homes down the shore, lost too much.

“We cannot permit that sorrow to replace the resilience that I know all New Jerseyans have” Governor Christie – so true!

I am sure I will continue to see good people make the biggest difference in other’s lives in small, random ways.  “I learned how to give not because I have many – but because I know exactly how it feels to have nothing…”

Always Jersey strong…♥

About Teresita

I am a writer, a thinker, an introvert, work behind the scenes kind of person - I am of Puerto Rican blood, have an Italian soul, and a Berliner mind....just learning...♥ View all posts by Teresita

Leave a Reply

