Being Altruistic…”Keeping Hope Alive” (MLK)…♥

What a day!  What a weekend!  Many may view my life as pretty sad – trust me I have called my life that myself many more times than I care to admit.  But as down as I am, I try to remember that there are many others worse off than me.  I usually find that giving back in some small way is good for the soul.  I don’t have much but my heart is full and I am forever grateful.

I find that being altruistic, and reaching out to help others, not only benefits the person being helped, but practicing altruism also has many benefits for the person doing the helping.  Trust me I am proof.  I try to help others because I truly believe that reaching out in some small way is one of the greatest gifts of the heart.  I sometimes wish I had all the answers though and a crystal ball.

I have been doing some type of volunteer work for the past 15+ years; and it never fails to make me FEEL!  Sometimes I feel happy, relieved, worthy, determined, purposeful…but other times I have felt heartbroken.  Saturday was a good day.  Raised money, was able to help provide close to 200 elementary school aged children get school supplies.  But this evening was a different day.  Children in distress – emotional abuse, broken homes, anger residing.  I grew up in Newark, NJ but was luckily sheltered to the real ugliness that permeates the city.

I met a little 10 year old today that was using his fists and hitting a brick wall when I asked what he was doing and if he was okay, he answered “No!  I have to hit, I am angry”.   He didn’t want to go home. I took him for a walk, we chatted as he drank two bottles of water.  Sounds so simple but it was hard – all I wanted to do was hug him and take him home.  I found myself many times tonight at a loss for words.  So I listened. And prayed.  And will continue to do so…

So I cry and I pray that my tears help someone else….more in need than me.  ♥

Some of my favorite quotes that remind me what living is all about…

“You will find, as you look back on your life, that the moments that stand out are the moments when you have done things for others.” – Henry Drummond

“Down in their hearts, wise men know this truth: the only way to help yourself  is to help others.” – Elbert Hubbard

“Charity and personal force are the only investments worth anything.” – Walt Whitman

“It is one of the most beautiful compensations of life that no person can sincerely try to help another without helping themselves.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

“To laugh often and much, to win the respect of intelligent people and the affection of children, to earn the appreciation of honest critics and endure the betrayal of false friends, to appreciate beauty, to find the best in others, to leave the world a bit better, whether by a healthy child, a garden patch, or a redeemed social condition, to know even one life has breathed easier because
you have lived, THIS is to have succeeded.”
 – Ralph Waldo Emerson

“Make it a rule…never to lie down at night without being able to say, “I have made one human being at least a little wiser, a little happier or a little better this day.” – Charles Kingsley

About Teresita

I am a writer, a thinker, an introvert, work behind the scenes kind of person - I am of Puerto Rican blood, have an Italian soul, and a Berliner mind....just learning...♥ View all posts by Teresita

Leave a Reply

