Maybe to know me is not to love me…

We all want to fall in love. Why?

Because that experience makes us feel completely alive,
where every sense is heightened,
and every emotion is magnified.
Our everyday reality is shattered
and we are flying into the heavens.
It may only last a moment, an hour, or an afternoon,
but that doesn’t diminish its value,
because we are left with memories
that we treasure for the rest of our lives.

From the movie The Mirror Has Two Faces 

I think I am going to be single a lot longer than I thought at first. But this is my year – my time to be selfish, to finally put myself first. And not everyone will like this nor understand this. And that is just fine by me. Those who I choose to be in my life will understand and accept me. I am no longer going to change or go out of my way to accommodate others. I don’t feel like answering to anyone; I have no more patience or tolerance for people who don’t pay attention and I find myself having to repeat things to. I don’t need to be rescued.  I just need to re-discover and embrace me.

Relationships are harder now because conversations became texting, arguments became phone calls, and feelings became subliminal messages online. Sex became easy, the word love gets used out of context, insecurities have become your way of thinking. Getting jealous became a habit, trust has been lost, cheating became an accident, leaving became the only option and being hurt became natural.

Tired…

About Teresita

I am a writer, a thinker, an introvert, work behind the scenes kind of person - I am of Puerto Rican blood, have an Italian soul, and a Berliner mind....just learning...♥ View all posts by Teresita

2 responses to “Maybe to know me is not to love me…

Leave a Reply

