Live life simply…learning from V!

Ah so today I have to ‘see’ my ‘family’ since my Goddaughter is performing in a dance recital.  While I love and adore my niece, I do not get a long too well with my sisters, etc.  But I am going to venture out, paste a fake smile on my face when I see all of them, and make the best of it and remind myself that I am not there for me, for them just my Goddaughter.  My BFF, V, is taking  and accompanying me – so he is my buffer.  I have known V for over 10 years – we worked together many moons ago and I basically bossed him around and somehow he smiled through the whole work experience.   I absolutely love him.  He is my real family.  Sometimes more often than not, family isn’t always blood.  They’re the people in your life who appreciate having you in theirs – the ones who encourage you to improve in healthy and exciting ways, and who not only embrace who you are now, but also embrace and embody who you want to be.  These people – your real family – are the ones who truly matter.  So yes, he is the family that I really don’t have….even his real family, have opened their hearts to me.  I truly don’t know where I would be if it weren’t for V putting up with me the past few years especially.

I have rarely seen V angry, judgmental, or even negative.  He is a very happy, sincere, caring, simple person and I wish I could be more like him.  So I am going to try really hard to treat everyone with kindness and respect, even those who are rude to me – not because they are nice, but because I am!  I am going to try to accept people just the way they are.  In most cases it’s impossible to change them anyway, and it’s rude to try.  So in order to save myself from needless stress, instead of trying to change them  or wait for them to wake up, I will just be understanding, try giving them my support, lead by example yet continue to stay away from the negativity and surround myself with good positive caring people.

Life sometimes doesn’t always introduce us to the people we want to meet.  Sometimes life puts us in touch with the people we need to meet – to help us, to leave us, to love us…and to slowly strengthen us into the person we are meant to become.  Sometimes we come across people who will say all the right words at the right times; but in the end, or when it really matters, their actions, not their words are all that matter.

I love these words by Elisabeth Kubler-Ross:  “The most beautiful people are those who have known defeat, known suffering, known struggle, known loss, and have found their way out of the depths.  These people have an appreciation, a sensitivity, and understanding of life that fills them with compassion, gentleness, and a deep loving concern.  Beautiful people do not just happen”…so I am on that journey of being true to myself and becoming one of those beautiful people…

And if people want to think of me as stuck up, proud, conceited or whatever – let them.  Being classy is not about being stuck up – its more about having a simply unique style that will never be forgotten.  To be me is all about respect – respect for others, for my elders, and most of all respect for myself!  ♥

About Teresita

I am a writer, a thinker, an introvert, work behind the scenes kind of person - I am of Puerto Rican blood, have an Italian soul, and a Berliner mind....just learning...♥ View all posts by Teresita

2 responses to “Live life simply…learning from V!

Leave a Reply

