T needs to toughen up!

Ever feel like a failure at work, at life in general?   *sigh*  This second, this past week and weekend, already spilling into this new week – sadly this is how I feel.  I had to work late each day last week all through the weekend, and I was not able to be as successfully productive and effective as I would have liked.

I am in the midst of yet an equally busy week. But I am so exhausted.  Being sickly, trying to work a full-time job is so much harder than I ever imagined.  But I am hopeful…I will keep trying to rise in life and at work even when I feel like a failure.

In the fall of 2001, when life knocked me down to my knees and I lost everything – I was so lost, I felt like a complete failure. What I learned was that by making a decision to rise above any and all circumstances, backed with the strongest inner vision of true heartfelt purpose, one day at a time, one moment at a time, I continue to be able to transform my entire life.

Overcoming adversity is something I no longer feel like a complete failure at – I just have to somehow apply this to my everyday life.  I am still learning that….no experience is a failure.  I am not a failure simply because I have yet to achieve all that I desire.  Experience is definitely a good teacher – as long  as I am open to change.  I believe that the fateful twists of life amid our tragedies are what bring us our greatest strength and wisdom.  Trying not to judge myself as a failure simply because I have not yet succeeded at so many things.  I believe my time has come…I am deserving to have all of my desires and joys manifested.   With resolve, understanding, faith and decisiveness, I am slowly creating the life I want and desire.  I just need to STOP buying into the false belief that I am “less than” any other person.  Working on not comparing myself to no one; but to gain inspiration from the few who have shared their pain and have overcome their own darkest hours.  I am learning that the only difference between them and me is a stable support system, and an inner resolve, a decision backed with sheer will, vision, determination, and consistency.

“Winners never quit and quitters never win”….It’s an old saying that I’m sure you’ve heard many times before.  But just how much truth is behind those words?  When and how do you know if it’s the right choice to cut and run and throw in the towel?

You are never ever going to follow every single path you begin to it’s end destination.  You change. Your life changes. Your goals constantly change.   Every step that you take, causes you to grow and stretch beyond your current boundaries. Sometimes those changes will almost predetermine your need to give in and throw in that towel in certain areas.

It’s not a failure to give in.  It’s a courageous act, too often unrecognized.

Decisions are tough, and the bigger attachment you have to the outcome the tougher they can be. Be honest in your assessment.  You can play head-games forever and  justify your argument no matter which side of the coin you’re backing.  I need to believe that we all  struggle with throwing in the towel, second guessing ourselves becomes part of our nature.

On my journey….learning to toughen up!!!  ♥

About Teresita

I am a writer, a thinker, an introvert, work behind the scenes kind of person - I am of Puerto Rican blood, have an Italian soul, and a Berliner mind....just learning...♥ View all posts by Teresita

2 responses to “T needs to toughen up!

Leave a Reply

