The power of hugs, smiles, quiet…

Last week was one of the hardest for me at my new job.  Its going on a month since I have started this job and being the new girl has been more difficult than I imagined….trying to fit in, learn new procedures, new faces, new names, etc.  Exhausting.  A little daunting.  All making me a little sad.  And here it is Sunday afternoon already and I am getting a little anxious.  *sigh*

One day last week, after a long commute after work, I was on my way home, and ran into an old friend, neighbor, a ‘what if’ person, gave me a hug…and I could not breathe…and I think it took me a few days to realize that I missed being hugged.  The simple power of a hug…who knew?!  It was a little happiness in an unexpected hug!  “Everybody needs a hug.  It changes your metabolism”  ~Leo Buscaglia

In the past when people tried to hug me, I always found myself to be awkward, boxed in, distancing myself – never fully embracing the other person nor the idea of the hug itself.  But I don’t want to be so closed off.  I want more hugs, I think no?  😉

I tend to be the type of person who is a loner; I get quiet, go inside of myself, guarding against hurt.  I tend to go inside, needing one-on-one time with myself to figure things out, put things in perspective.  I do struggle to put myself out there, but I won’t stop trying.

How do I choose to be happy before anything good happens to make me feel happy?  Ever hear of the Buddhist monk, Thich Nhat Hanh?  “Smile five times a day for no good reason.”  Smiling actually produces a biological effect in your body. It sends chemicals racing around your body and actually lifts your spirits. Try this today. Then, every day this week, smile five times a day for no good reason.  Do it standing in the shower. Do it walking down the street, or working at your desk. For no good reason, just break into a smile. Watch your mood change, even though nothing in your exterior has shifted.  Can’t hurt.  This is my goal this week, especially at work.

So in daily struggle to stay true to myself, find some balance, and keep edging myself out of this box of depression, I am going to seek the universal medicines in the forms of hugs, smiles, and quiet…♥

About Teresita

I am a writer, a thinker, an introvert, work behind the scenes kind of person - I am of Puerto Rican blood, have an Italian soul, and a Berliner mind....just learning...♥ View all posts by Teresita

4 responses to “The power of hugs, smiles, quiet…

Leave a Reply

