You have been un-friended! You are fired!

For years I was hesitant to create a Facebook page, then after months of my cousins sending me requests, I finally created one.  Now almost three years later, I going through a major spring cleaning.  I have been un-friending those “friends” whom I have had no contact with for a few weeks….if someone hasn’t posted something, I could comment to; if they haven’t “liked” or commented something I posted, or if they haven’t sent me any “gifts” to play my games, then mostly likely I have un-friended them.  If we haven’t texted offline in real time, or chatted, then most likely I am un-friending someone.  I need to de-clutter my life.  I have never needed a lot of friends, just the right ones.  So I am “firing” my so-called friends; dropping the negative people in my life.  Unfortunately, fortunately – all depending who and what day, I won’t delete my family members.  I will just hide them.  Family is forever, but that doesn’t mean you need to let them hold you back from enjoying life!

For the last year and a half, I have felt consistently happier – despite my major financial and health issues.  This is the longest stretch of happiness I have encountered since I was a child.  Yes sad to admit.  I divorced a sadistic poor excuse for a man, I left a job of micro-managers, incompetent people.  I am re-branding myself and starting over.  So far, its working out beautifully.

Over the same amount of time, I have cut a multitude of people out of my life that dragged me down in one way or another:  energy-zappers, promoters of bad habits, judgmental janes, selfish users, thoughtless, insensitive, non–understanding people.  Fate?  Coincidence? Nope.  I strongly believe that the first step is directly linked to the second.

Sometimes you just need to walk away.  Since I’ve cut or limited my time with negative people in my life, I have found: more self love, more freedom and confidence in myself; the bonds with my truly supportive friends grew stronger because I put more effort into those relationships.  I now attract more like-minded positive people into my life- the others get cut fast.

Sometimes, the best thing for you to do for yourself and your bliss is to sever a friendship that brings you down.
I know this sounds harsh, but it is one of the key steps I’ve encountered on my way to finding happiness.  If someone is no longer bringing a smile to my face, then good-bye.   I have learned that friends will come and go, and that is natural.  Severing the ties with someone makes room for more positive people to come into your life, and allows you more time to nurture the true friendships you have.

So here I continue…on my journey…being brave….being honest…saving myself from wasting any more time.   I have to repeat to myself over and over again…the only thing holding me back from my ideal life is me not taking action.  So I get up everyday, and I try again.  I am strong enough.

This is my one life….one…I am now choosing more carefully the people I allow into my life, who I want to spend it with….sometimes there’s no going back…no do-overs.   ♥

About Teresita

I am a writer, a thinker, an introvert, work behind the scenes kind of person - I am of Puerto Rican blood, have an Italian soul, and a Berliner mind....just learning...♥ View all posts by Teresita

2 responses to “You have been un-friended! You are fired!

Leave a Reply

