“Everyone comes in and out of your life at certain times for a reason.”

Wow – I feel like I have not written a word in months…been busy quitting a job, looking for full time work, trying to pay bills, stay above water, fighting back depression, trying to stay positive, reconnecting with an old friend, trying to maintain my new friendships, trying to get in shape for summer….*sigh* …its no wonder I am exhausted.

I found a new job.  Its Friday, so I survived the full week.  Made actual dinner plans for Saturday night.  Joined a gym.  *yikes*  A lot of change for me in a short period of time.  Learning to relax and just go with it….so far so good.  Two of my favorite things about growing older are the lessons that you learn and passing that advice onto others, if lucky.  As I was sitting on the train this morning, relaxing and not really thinking about anything in particular.  All of a sudden, the phrase crossed my mind, “Everyone comes in and out of your life at certain times for a reason.”

A beautiful young lady, who I spoken to a couple of times on the phone, and just met in person late last week, wrote the most wonderful thing to me that has stayed with me for the entire week, and I need to share:

Hi Tere,

It was really so great speaking to you earlier. I have to say, my favorite part of this job, is occasionally I speak to someone who really touches my heart.

Even though we have not met yet, I find such similarities in our stories. Even though we might be a few years apart in age. It really sounds like you have come through a lot and are excited about a new future! …. I know you are going to love the club. Anything I can do to help you enjoy this experience more, I would love to help.

Words, simple at best, just stirred something real deep within me.  A wonderful man who I had the good fortune to work with at my last consulting gig for a few months, provided me with such a fantastic reference that I know its partly due to him, I landed my new job so quickly.  He helped me re-write my resume, always had words of wisdom, encouragement.  I am blessed to have met him.  He sent me a note(s) that stated:

CONGRATULATIONS!…how fast you landed is indicative of your value, competency, capability and presentability.  The market has spoken and rewarded you!  I always say “Cream rises to the top”…I want to share my good fortune at work and for meeting such a spark of life and wonderful person as yourself…The new place will quickly appreciate your skills, common sense touch and work ethic.

I wonder if my friend, former colleague, knows the profound difference he has made in my life?  I am starting over.  And in doing so have learned that sometimes its all the little things that amount to something great.  And being grateful, surrounding ourselves with positive people, gets us through the next hurdle.

“Everyone comes in and out of your life at a certain time for a reason”

This phrase  can be applied to friends, family members, co-workers, partners, neighbors, grocery store cashiers, complete strangers, etc. Every single person you meet or have a relationship with is placed in your life for a greater purpose. The lessons that you learn from that person are meant to help your soul grow and develop.  Think about some of the influential people that you have known in your life.  Sometimes people come into your life and you know right away that they were meant to be there, to serve some sort of purpose, teach you a lesson, or to help you figure out who you are or who you want to become.  And sometimes things happen to you that may seem horrible, painful, and unfair at first, but in reflection you find that without overcoming those obstacles you would have never realized your potential, strength, willpower, or heart.

*Everything happens for a reason.*

Nothing happens by chance or by means of good luck.

Illness, injury, love, lost moments of true greatness, and sheer stupidity all occur to test the limits of your soul.  Without these small tests, whatever they may be, life would be like a smoothly paved, straight, flat road to nowhere. It would be safe and comfortable, but dull and utterly pointless.

The people you meet who affect your life, and the success and downfalls you experience, help to create who you are and who you become. Even the bad experiences can be learned from.  In fact, they are probably the most poignant and important ones.

Sometimes I wonder why a particular person is in my life. Sometimes I can pinpoint what I think the reason is, but I also believe that there is an even grander reason that I cannot see at this time in my life. I like to think that the Universe and God have a larger plan than any of us humans can imagine. Have you ever wanted something so badly only to not have your wish come true? Then, something even better than what you had wished for somehow ended up happening. That is how I view life. I can’t understand how or why things happen, but I have faith and hope that everything happens for a greater reason. That’s part of the reason why I believe that people come in and out of our life for a reason…and why some are just meant to stay forever, even if just in our hearts.   This is my life…♥

About Teresita

I am a writer, a thinker, an introvert, work behind the scenes kind of person - I am of Puerto Rican blood, have an Italian soul, and a Berliner mind....just learning...♥ View all posts by Teresita

3 responses to ““Everyone comes in and out of your life at certain times for a reason.”

  • Marie

    Once again, beautifully written! You are wise beyond your years – those who have walked through the greatest challenges and emerged on the other side often are. …maybe scarred from the journey, but always more beautiful than ever!! xoxo

  • Tiara

    YES, YES, YES! I probably say that everything happens for a reason atleast twice a day. I completely agree.
    This is great titi! ❤ I am extremely glad you are able to be open and get your feelings out, that will always be a struggle of mine. But you are so incredibly strong. We re alike in so many ways, hope you stay in my life.

Leave a Reply

