Being Alone – By Choice…

Solitude needed for this restless mind…Never be afraid to sit awhile and think.  It is in the stillness, alone, that I know who I am, and how unique I am…embraced it.

”It is in solitude that we discover that being is more important than having and that we are worth more than the results of our efforts. In solitude we discover that our life is not a possession to be defended, but a gift to be shared.”–William Faulkner

”What a lovely surprise to finally discover how unlonely being alone can be.” –Ellen Burstyn

”There is a difference between loneliness and being alone; there is a choice of mind in being alone, but loneliness comes up through the heart and into the throat.” –William Faulkner

As Faulkner wrote, ”…there is a choice of mind in being alone.”  Is it time for you/me to make that choice?

Many people confuse being alone with being lonely.  Not me.  Loneliness is the poverty of self; solitude is the richness of self.

In the words of Ralph Waldo Emerson, “What I must do is all that concerns me, not what the people think. This rule, equally arduous in actual and intellectual life, may serve for the whole distinction between greatness and meanness. It is the harder, because you will always find those who think they know what is your duty better than you know it. It is easy in the world to live after the world’s opinion; it is easy in solitude to live after our own; but the great person is one who in the midst of the crowd keeps with perfect sweetness the independence of solitude.”

Just saying…♥

About Teresita

I am a writer, a thinker, an introvert, work behind the scenes kind of person - I am of Puerto Rican blood, have an Italian soul, and a Berliner mind....just learning...♥ View all posts by Teresita

2 responses to “Being Alone – By Choice…

  • Scott Mitchell

    I’ve always enjoyed alone time. Even during lunch hours on occasion and my coworkers think it us strange. Maybe it is a trait of the “thinker.” In my opinion the people that need others always present are the ones with some issue 🙂

    Anyway…. Good night

  • Teresita

    I agree Scott. I have always been a loner. Hide in a corner read, write…some people, just need to fill up their time with shallowness and activities to feel something, somehow connected. I would find that too exhausting. Enjoy your quiet time. Keep thinking and growing.

Leave a Reply

