♥ Downtime…and being my own Valentine ♥

Wow – having a full Saturday to myself is a rare and beautiful thing….I made sure to keep up with light cleaning during the week; got the grocery shopping for the family done after work this past week; taking a day off from traveling into NYC, no doctors, nurse or kids this weekend…sound selfish?  Yes perhaps a tad…but I deserve it.  Yes.

Sometimes it’s best to forget how you feel, and remember what you deserve…I always knew looking back on the tears would make me laugh. But I never knew looking back on the laughs would make me cry…miss my ♥M♥

*sigh* So I find myself single this coming Valentine’s Day…and I am okay with this.  I am going to be my own valentine.  Today it starts – carving out some much needed “ME” time.    So sitting here in my pajamas still (yes its past noon), ordered comfort food, and listening to music, flipping through tv channels too.  I love music that speaks to me.  Its like the artist is in my head and expresses how I feel.  I am enjoying my one-day, super mini staycation…yay.

Being single doesn’t mean I am not celebrating Valentine’s Day – trust me, I find any occasion to enjoy chocolate – a definite must.  So I am celebrating life, health, friendship…with good food, great wine, lots of laughter.  I tend to put myself last sometimes, when I get lost in the details of caring for others but being selfish for the next 48 hours or so is going to be quite indulgent of me.

So I am investing in me.  Loving myself.  Pampering myself.  Challenging the idea that roses, heart-shaped chocolates, red, and romance are only for those with significant others.  Treating myself to little things that make me feel special – because you know what?  I am!

I have mentioned before this is the year of ME.  Challenging myself.  Creating new goals.  Finding new hobbies.  Tackling new projects.  Learning new skills.  Making new friends.  Going to new places.  Feeling so empowered by all the possibilities and opportunities before me and I am finally taking this life of mine by the reins a little.  Who knew learning and trying could be so invigorating?!

So since I am being lazy today and have nothing special to do or pressing, I hope I can go to bed early and catch up on some quality Z’s.   But knowing the insomniac that lives within me, I am sure sleep will elude me later.  I may have to write another post.  😉

So making this weekend of love and taking a moment or two to reflect on life’s big and little blessings.  Saying a prayer of thanks and laughing through my tears.  ♥

About Teresita

I am a writer, a thinker, an introvert, work behind the scenes kind of person - I am of Puerto Rican blood, have an Italian soul, and a Berliner mind....just learning...♥ View all posts by Teresita

2 responses to “♥ Downtime…and being my own Valentine ♥

Leave a Reply

