Now what?!

The past year or so, I found myself re-entering the workforce after my divorce and caring for my parents.  Who knew this would coincide with one of the worst economic cycles ever?  As if it weren’t bad enough trying to wade through all the emotional, financial, and logistical obstacles leading up to the divorce.   In the past year, I actually found myself trying to compete with younger, smarter, straight out of of college kids who have no real responsibilities nor financial burdens – so they were willing to work cheaper and work longer hours.  I have been, at times, so scared to be back out here – that there have been more than one paralyzing moment after another.   Under much duress and time constraints, I took a role too quickly and now find myself in  a corner of working way beneath what I should be earning.  Such is life I guess. 

Temping and consulting the past year, has been difficult, but is helping me move forward.  One difficult issue for me was low self-confidence.  I felt old, rusty, out of touch with all the new technologies.  Most of my professional network was full of outdated contacts.  This loss of self-confidence led to “analysis paralysis” – extreme procrastination and inertia. 

Now I am pushing through that “I don’t know where to begin” phase.   Finding myself in this transition, I am stepping back, clarifying what I want and need, and am not as scared nor paralyzed anymore.   I have dipped my toe in the vast world of the workforce, and am ready to look for something more challenging, better paying, continuing to re-assess my skills and worth.   Learning what issues I am willing to be flexible on, what is non-negotiable and why.

At the same, I am trying to work hard at pursuing my other passions of writing and traveling…let’s not forget eating…

Wish me luck…

About Teresita

I am a writer, a thinker, an introvert, work behind the scenes kind of person - I am of Puerto Rican blood, have an Italian soul, and a Berliner mind....just learning...♥ View all posts by Teresita

2 responses to “Now what?!

Leave a Reply

