A promise is a cloud; fulfillment is rain…

Here is an undeniable truth about life – actions do speak louder than words!  I know, you’ve heard this all before.  Those of you that know me have heard me use this phrase time and again. I daresay that I might even overuse it.  But the truth is, you can, and must, decide how a person is by their actions and not by their words!

Words are cheap.  Actions mean everything!  The truth is always there for all to see when you observe the way people act and respond, rarely by what they say.  This truth is self-evident – good people practice what they preach.  You can tell a lot about a person by their actions.  How do they respond to you?  How do they treat you?  Real, sincere people say what they mean and act the same way.  Real people, good people, decent people, will always demonstrate who they are by their consistent actions.  Consistent actions on their part will tell you what you need to know, for good or for bad.

So the new me will only focus on what people DO instead of what they SAY – Actions Speak Louder Than Words!

I have thought a lot over the past couple of weeks why people do the things they do in their lives. What motivates people to say one thing and then do another?!  I am trying really hard not to put myself into the situation of being disappointed when it is in some people’s character to disappoint me and countless others.  I can’t stop looking for the good in everybody – that is, of course, until they again prove themselves to be false. Then I say to myself, “Why do I follow their words? If I follow their actions, then I’ll be a lot better off.”  So be it… I like to believe that most people in my life don’t set out to lie or deceive for the most part. In fact, I think that most of the world is still full of good people who generally try to get by in life without hurting others. Having said that, at the end of the day, people still do what is best for them first…regardless of what they have said to you in the past.   Makes me sad…but with each passing day, I am more accepting, and less gullible, less hurt.

Why does this happen over and over? Why do people often tell you what you want to hear and then do something other than what they expressed to you? I think I finally know some of the answers:  It’s because they are scared. Fear causes people to act differently than they normally would.  So does jealousy.  So does immaturity.

Think about it; if you were truly unafraid of the ramifications of not doing what appears to be in your personal best interest, would you be willing to stay the course and keep your original plan and commitments in place? I say yes, you would, because you wouldn’t have anything to lose. So if you’re unafraid, why not stick to what you said you were going to do?!

It seems that so many people are unfortunately completely unaware of the basic concept of action and reaction. People seem to think that if our actions do not have an immediate effect, we need not worry or even think twice about the action we took or are about to take.  The reality is, every action, no matter how small, has an effect. The effect may not be immediate, but it is inevitable. A consequence that is lingering from a past action can be much worse than any immediate consequence.  Whether it is physical or not, it will eventually take full effect, and the build-up will be catastrophic if you are unaware.

Embrace and fully apply Newton’s laws of motion …I am working hard on accepting this inevitability.  The sooner I can adopt this way of life, the easier it will be for me to make the transition…my journey….never ending…   ♥

Do your actions speak louder than words?   Do you realize that your actions, or lack thereof , cause a ripple, reaction?  Just asking…

Trust only movement.  Life happens at the level of events, not of words.  Trust movement.  ~A. Adler ♥

About Teresita

I am a writer, a thinker, an introvert, work behind the scenes kind of person - I am of Puerto Rican blood, have an Italian soul, and a Berliner mind....just learning...♥ View all posts by Teresita

Leave a Reply

