How are you living your life…?

Today I woke up feeling blah – Monday morning winter blues I guess.  And then I learned that my nephew lost a friend and the wake is tonight.    The young man who passed was only 23 years old.   Every time, a person dies is sad, but when it’s a young person with their life still ahead of them, just always seems more tragic. 

I wish more people would realize that life and death is just a breath away and a mere second could indeed change your life forever.  The future is promised to no one.  

Life is so fragile…with a breath we are brought into this world, and with a breath we leave this world.  I am sure each and every one of has been touched by a death.  Some of us, like me, perhaps more than we would like to count.  

Life and death….death and life – the two absolute constants in this world of ours.  I do like to believe that how we choose to live this one life of ours, will affect how and when we die. 

Throughout my travels, my volunteer work, my own experiences dealing with leukemia, I have met many people and really watched how they deal with death and mortality. 

 I have met some people who fear death, and will do everything and anything to fight and not die.

I have met those who feel invincible and need to challenge death and shake their fist in defiance.

I have some who have nine lives and just keep beating the odds and are grateful for every breath.

I have sadly met those who want to die, invite it into their lives as a guest, and bring death on too soon. 

I have met those brave men and women, who put their lives on the line to protect us.

I have been fortunate to have met some who have learned to find the balance in life and with grace find peace and acceptance when death does come.

I have personally experienced each of the above in my life at one point or another and am still here to write about it.  Now, I feel like I am in a quiet place where I am ready for whatever life throws at me.  I understand and accept that life is about living and dying.  I believe that people do make choices that affect what kind of life they live.  I believe that it matters more to me now, how we live our lives and not how we are taken from this world.  For a long time, I used to believe that it was better not to fully invest in anyone; people leave, they die.  It was all so overwhelming, scary.  But I have learned that the alternative is so much worse.  I can’t possibly convince anyone that losing my loved ones, has made me a better person; I still get sad, angry, lost.   But the mere thought of never having had them in my life – now that would have been truly unbearable, and tragic.  So I hope for the best, prepare myself for the worst, and keep moving forward, investing in people. 

 So how are you living your life?! 

 ♥

About Teresita

I am a writer, a thinker, an introvert, work behind the scenes kind of person - I am of Puerto Rican blood, have an Italian soul, and a Berliner mind....just learning...♥ View all posts by Teresita

2 responses to “How are you living your life…?

Leave a Reply

