It‘s not where we stand but in what direction we are moving….

You know what makes me happily relieved??  It makes me happy to know that none of us were provided a how-to guide at living…we are all just kind of winging it. The struggles make us stronger, changes make us wise, and happiness has its own way of taking its sweet time…sometimes I wonder if I have learned anything about life or will I be condemned to wander the world learning little and basically understanding nothing?!

But I have learned….that everything that happens – good and bad – can be a life lesson.

Nobody gets through life without losing someone they love, someone they need, or something they thought was meant to be.  But it is these losses that make us stronger and if we keep an open mind, we can work on moving forward, toward future opportunities for growth and happiness.

I am proof that sometimes you have to die a little on the inside in order to learn how to get back up and start living life again – working on becoming a stronger, smarter version of myself.

I have learned to stop berating myself for being a work in progress.  I have started embracing it!

I have learned that being a work in progress doesn’t mean I am not good enough today.  It means I want a better tomorrow.  I am working on healing my heart, expanding my mind and developing the gifts I know I was meant to share – hence my blog, my writing. May we all be works in progress forever, and celebrate the fact that we are!

I have learned that I have to stop spending time with negative people.  I plan on spending more time with nice people who are smart, driven and creative.   Working on surrounding myself with people who reflect the person I want to be.  Life is way too short to spend time with people who suck the happiness out of us.  When you free yourself of negative people, you free yourself to be YOU – and being YOU is the simplest way to live.  That is what I have learned…and continue to strive for.

I have learned that I am not just what has happened to me in the past.  No matter how sad, chaotic the past has been, the future is a clean, fresh, wide open slate.   I am not only my past habits.  I am not just my past failures.  I am free to be the ME that I want to be…

My daily mantra:  “Dear Past, thank you for all the life lessons you have taught me.  Dear Future, I am ready now…and Here I Am”.

About Teresita

I am a writer, a thinker, an introvert, work behind the scenes kind of person - I am of Puerto Rican blood, have an Italian soul, and a Berliner mind....just learning...♥ View all posts by Teresita

One response to “It‘s not where we stand but in what direction we are moving….

Leave a Reply

